As I sit here on my balcony, I was first tempted to be saddened and upset about all the things that I do not have but then I remembered all the things that I do have. So often we look at and focus on all the things that other people have and envy that. However, there are people who look at us and our situations and what we have. They are envious of us. The grass always looks greener on the other side. Until we get there sometimes.

Sometimes when we get the things that we want, we end up wanting to go back to the way that it was before. Or we just keep wanting more. Why can’t we be happy and content with what we do have and what the Lord has provided us? Why can’t we praise him for what he is doing?

How much more will he bless us if we thank him and praise him for all the things that we do have. These can be material and immaterial things. And believe me, I am the most guilty of not being grateful. But if I’m not happy with what I have, why should the Lord provide me with more?

This is me not accepting his love for me, to some extent. Which is very humbling. This is also me not loving him back. How do we change our mindset? It is honestly a matter of us literally choosing to change our minds. God gave us free will, though he knows what we are going to do. Though he can do it for us, he wants us to make the decision for ourselves.

One simple way is to follow the words to that hymn…”Count your blessings. Name them one by one. Count your blessings. See what God has done.” If we just open our eyes and see all that he has done and has provided, our minds will be blown! We will see how much he truly loves us as his children. We will truly love him and be grateful for him and all that he has provided.

It’s a daily choice to count them and keep our eyes and ears open to Jesus and what he is doing. However, what a blessing it is when we do it. It changes our attitudes. It gets us out of funks.

We do not need all the likes and all the comments and all the follows to be loved. The Lord doesn’t care about those things. He loves us no matter how “popular” we are on social media.

Myself, I’m not so good at the social media. There are some great things that can be done with it but it can be so destructive and unloving…I’ll get into another post about that at some point.

The point that I am trying to make here is think about all the ways that the Lord has loved on you. Think about all the things he has provided for you….start with the simple and big things and go from there…..

Do you have a job? Do you have somewhere to live? Do you have transportation? Do you have food to eat? Do you have somewhere to sleep? Can you pay your bills? etc…usually once I start thanking him for all these things then I start seeing all the other things…specifically his hand and his timing in situations…which again will be another post. I have so much to say about that subject, even from the past year.

When I do start thinking about all that I have and all that the Lord has provided, I cannot help but praise him and thank him for it. Even if I have just what I have now, I have more than I could ever deserve. He is so faithful and so loving.

Let the Lord start loving on you and think about how he has already loved on you. Chances are you will start to see more blessings. Choose to focus on all these great things in the midst of whatever it is that you are going through and in the midst of all the hard things. God still has you and is caring for you. Let him love you.

~Lynn

