Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

We ALL face rejection at some point in our lives. Some of us take it better than others. Some face it less often than others. As a Christian, I know that I will face it quite often, as I know that I am not going to meet the expectations of the world. Jesus faced continually rejection as he walked the earth. We reject him every day. Yet he never rejects us.

This continues to blow my mind. That no matter how many times I have rejected him and said that my way is better. He never rejects me.

I’ll admit that I hate to be rejected. I don’t think anyone honestly likes to be rejected. It makes us doubt ourselves and who we are. Especially if we know what our value is in Christ and who he sees us as. It doesn’t matter if it’s a boss, a lover, a friend, family, or a stranger that rejects us. Rejection stings to the core. Especially when the person means something to us.

It probably hurts more when it comes from someone who means something to us. We can often brush it off when it comes from a stranger. We can chalk it up to things such as they don’t actually know us, they were having a bad day, it was an off day for you, or some other excuse that we manage to convince ourselves to believe.

When it comes from someone who means something to us, the sting lasts longer. We aren’t able to brush it off as easily. We think about it over and over again. We analyze and over analyze til we work ourselves up over the situation. It often shakes us to our core. We wonder why and what we have done wrong. We think through every tiny little detail and make all sorts of assumptions.

Unfortunately often times with the rejection, we don’t get to find out the real truth of the rejection. Sometimes the rejection is nothing actually that we did but more so something that they are dealing with internally and it is being projected onto us.

When I think about that, I think about the phrase that we should be kind to every person because each person is fighting a battle that we know nothing about.

IMG_8089 copy

It’s true…

We don’t know what other people are battling. Maybe they are going through their own battle with rejection and part of their defense mechanism is to in turn reject others. They are trying to protect themselves or make themselves feel better. It’s their way to handle rejection.

It doesn’t mean that it’s right though. Now I understand we are not going to get along with everyone and not everyone is going to like you. However, I feel like we need to really think through things before we reject someone.

We shouldn’t just judge the book by it’s cover. We shouldn’t resort to rejection as our first defense mechanism, especially when it comes to people that mean something to us. Human relationships are difficult. They require time and work. They aren’t easy. We have to put effort into them and listen to one another. We have to work to maintain them. Sometimes we have to put others before ourselves.

Unfortunately, in life we are going to face rejection. But don’t let it stop you and who you are. Keep being kind to others and loving others. Even when others reject you and treat you disrespectfully, continue to keep demonstrating Christ’s love.  I know this is not the popular thing to do or the easiest thing to do. But it’s what we are called to do as Christians.

Personally I want to love everyone and encourage everyone that I meet. I want to be a light in the dark and give as much of my heart to others as I can. I do not want walls to go up, simply because I have been rejected. I know that this makes me vulnerable and susceptible to being hurt more and worse than I have already been hurt.

However, I believe that it is worth it. Everyone wants to be loved and appreciated in life. And I know that the Lord has blessed me with eyes to see this and a heart to help encourage and support those around me. I am grateful for the opportunity to love and support others, in spite of my aches and pains from rejection.

I will keep smiling and keep loving. I will keep allowing the Lord to use me and I will work to keep encouraging those around me. No matter what the Lord allows in my life I will keep finding joy and keep sharing the joy that I have in him!

IMG_8042-2 copy

Don’t let the fear of rejection and pain keep you from taking a chance. You never know what could happen. You never know how the Lord is going to use that interaction.

Happy Saturday friends!

~Lynn

