Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

So continuing off my last post about reflecting over this last year, like everyone else is starting to do at this point, I’m going to reflect on the idea that “God doesn’t give us more than we can handle.”

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

While that sounds all nice and pretty it’s no the truth. The Lord does give us more than we can handle. This is not to discourage us or to keep us down but to grow us and stretch us. It brings us closer to him. Because he can handle everything.

“Dear brothers and sisters, when troubles of any kind come your way, consider it an opportunity for great joy. For you know that when your faith is tested, your endurance has a chance to grow.” -James 1:2-3

Are not the times that you are at your lowest the times that you cling to the Lord more? Are they not the times where you talk to him more? You read the scriptures more? You seek conversation with those who you believe to be close to him. You seek out those whom you know will really pray.

It’s during the most difficult times when we feel like we have no hope that we find our hope in him and draw in to him. He’s going to give us more than we can handle because he knows that we will turn to him. He uses this time to mold us and shape us and bring us higher. He wants us to get to the next level with him. He wants our faith to increase, therefore, he is going to sometimes give us more than we can handle.

IMG_2598

We often don’t talk to him when we think everything is going smoothly. We start to assume that it’s because of our own strength and doing. We forget to thank him and praise him and talk to him, often times when when he is blessing us.

Believe me I wish that he wouldn’t give me more than I could handle. But the great thing is that he gives me super strength to handle whatever the situation may be. He provides me the encouragement and the power to handle what is presented to me. When I pray and ask for things and speak over my life, he hears and answers. He moves and lifts me up. He brings me through like only he can.

It is not by myself that I make it through. It is only by him and who he is and his power inside me through the Holy Spirit that I can defeat the enemy. He’s given me that jurisdiction. He has that ability and he gives me the ability. But it’s only by him.

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified. Do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” – Joshua 1:9

So he is going to give us more than we can handle. Not to the point where he won’t provide and take care of us. But we have to get to the point where we give it all over to him and surrender. We have to let him have control of whatever the situation is.

“Just as you cannot understand the path of the wind or the mystery of a tiny baby growing in its mother’s womb, so you cannot understand the activity of God, who does all things.” -Ecclesiastes 11:5

Often times what we are going through doesn’t make sense to us but we have to have faith in what the Lord is doing. It may take days, months, or years before we see why we had to endure what we did. God doesn’t have to explain to us why he’s doing what he’s doing and we aren’t going to understand it in our limited human understanding. But there is always a reason and a purpose and he is doing it for the kingdom.

When we try to do it on our own, no we won’t be able to handle it. But that is because we are trying to do things on our own strength and not in his strength.

Rely on his strength and he will make a way out of no way. He will move mountains. He will make miracles happen in the darkest of situations. You just have to have faith.

“Let us therefore draw near with boldness to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy, and may find grace for help in time of need.”  -Hebrews 4:16

Keep praying…Keep fighting…Keep believing. Lean into God!

Blessings!

~Lynn

