Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So I’ve been reading my Bible a lot more and really getting into the scriptures. You’ll definitely start to see more scripture in my posts.

I am not claiming to be a theologian but I am wanting to share what the Lord is teaching me as I grow in my relationship with him. That’s the whole purpose of my blog. I want to share with you what he’s teaching me, through whatever avenue he teaches to show me.

I have realized as I am growing in my walk, I can’t just talk to God but I really have to read his word and know his word. He has given us that and it is important to know it.

This happened after I started reading Hebrews 11. Well, actually it started off much smaller than that if I’m honest. I wanted to start reading my Bible more but I didn’t know where to start. So I put an app on my phone “Daily Inspiration”. This just gave me a verse a day, so that way I was at least starting somewhere. Then I wouldn’t let myself get out of bed before I read just that one verse.

IMG_2777

I also had a Bible app on my phone. Then I started finding short little plans that they offered through it to add to my devotions. I needed something to help guide me with my reading of the word. Because I’m not going to lie, I was overwhelmed and intimidated by it.

I think many of us often are. It’s a large book and there is so much meat to it. We’re often used to our pastors, teachers, parents, leaders, or someone else telling us what they have read in the Bible and what it means. We don’t take the time to read it ourselves. We just go off what others tell us.

I urge you to take the step out of the boat, like Peter and get into the word yourself. Don’t just go off what someone else is telling you it says and means. It’s your relationship with Christ, he is going to reveal things to you in your quiet times with him.

Start off small. You don’t have to feel like you have to read the whole Bible in a year or read multiple chapters at once. It’s meant to be something that we digest and process. It’s not something that we binge on and then regurgitate. It’s something that is supposed to nourish us and help us grow.

Take the time to invest, start with 5 minutes a day. You give more than 5 minutes to watching tv, I’m sure. And eventually you’ll realize that you want to give him more time and read his word more. But you have to experience it for yourself.

That is something that I am realizing. I can hear everything and listen to what others say and what their experiences are. They were experiences that I wanted but it didn’t mean anything to me until I had my own experiences. Each of our relationships with Christ is different and that is the beautiful thing. He meets us where we are at. He is relevant to all of us.

IMG_2780

So my encouragement to you today is going to come from the scriptures in Matthew 14. It’s right after Jesus feeds the 5000. Which if you read verse 21 “The number of those who ate was about five thousand, besides women and children.” That means that there were more than 5000. So he fed even more people on that little amount of food! Mind is blown!

But the next part of the chapter is what I want you to take a real look at. From verse 22-33, it’s about Jesus on the water. But I don’t want to focus on Jesus walking on the water. I want to focus on Peter walking on the water.

Jesus was out on the water and the disciples were terrified, until they realized it was him. Then Peter says to Jesus if it is him then to tell him to come out on the water. Jesus calls to him and Peter walks on the water toward Jesus!

IMG_0426

Peter walked on the water toward Jesus! But then the wind comes and he is aware of the human impossibility of all this so he begins to sink and calls out to Jesus for help. Jesus reaches out to him and says “You of little faith, why did you doubt?”

Think about that for a little bit. This happens to us as Christians constantly. We are focused on the Lord and trusting him and then something happens to distract us and make us doubt and we fall right back into the mess of things, whatever it is. But when we stay focused on him we walk on water; we can walk through any situation and survive!

Why do we have such little faith in the Lord sometimes? Hasn’t he shown himself to be faithful over and over before? Hasn’t he brought you out of situations that you thought you would never make it through? Keep your focus on him and his strength and his power and he will bring you through yet again.

Life is going to at times feel like a roller coaster and the Lord is going to seem far away or call you out into the waters. You need to keep you focus on him. Do not get distracted by your past, or your doubters, or even by your fleshly self. Keep your eyes on the Lord and go where he is calling you. Do what he is asking you to do. Have faith and hope in him and he will bring you through. He will help you and pour out his favor and blessings to you.

Even when it doesn’t make logical sense, keep going toward him.I came across this quote one time and it’s stuck with me. I’m not even sure who said it anymore.

“God can do nothing for me until I recognize the limits of what is humanly possible, allowing him to do the impossible.”

This doesn’t mean that we don’t do our part and do all that we can but we need to trust in the Lord that he’s given us the tools and the abilities to do the impossible through his Spirit that lives inside us. If we understood the power that we have inside of us, we would not fear walking out on the water or fear what the Lord is doing. We would be at such peace and have such hope and faith.

Remember John 16:33, where Jesus says, “But take heart! I have overcome the world.” He is so faithful and so powerful and will help us through any situation, no matter what it is. He is the most powerful and the most high. So take a chance, step out of the boat, focused on Jesus and walk on water.

Blessings!

~Lynn

