Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

So thankfully this weekend ended up leading to some time to sit down and be quiet, as I mentioned yesterday. Thankfully I was blessed with some more time this morning, as I was woken up early again by the face below.IMG_3060

What I have come to terms with though with waking up is that, clearly there is a reason that I need to be awake if I get up early or am woken up in the middle of the night. Honestly, most of the time I have an overwhelming sense of urgency to pray, read my Bible, or even sing some praise songs to the Lord. I don’t always know why I have that urgency in that moment but I trust it. So I think the Lord honestly uses the fur ball sometimes to wake me up.

And I am becoming more and more grateful for these early morning quiet moments, before the day’s craziness really starts. I am not a morning person, well at least I used to not be. I had become a night person. Now, I am a morning person, especially after the last couple weeks.

There is just something  about the stillness of the morning before you jump into your day that is so peaceful and calming. This morning I literally made my cup of coffee and sat on the couch staring out the window and looking at my Christmas lights (yes I still have them up and they will be until February….and no you won’t change my mind.) It was so nice not to be hearing the blaring of the tv or music or anything. I didn’t even let my mind go yet to everything that I had to do for the day.

IMG_2317

I sat in the quiet and then started thanking Jesus for everything. I spent time talking to him and then started talking to him about why it’s easy to pray but not so easy for me to read my Bible. It’s not that I don’t want to read my Bible. I do and when I open it, I often read quite a bit, especially in the Old Testament. The stories that I remember reading as a kid are extremely fascinating to me.

This is something that I have had many conversations with people about. We do one or the other and not both, or at least not an equal amount. For me, I think part of it is that I am scared and intimidated. And I know that I have posted about this before but it’s something that I’m still dealing with. I was doing well before Christmas and then I got distracted by being out of my normal routine so the Bible reading fell out of my schedule.

But as I started reading my Bible today, I was reminded of why it was so important to read it. Man cannot live on bread and water alone. I need more. I need to know God’s words. This morning I was reading about Abraham and Sarah and then Issac in Genesis 20 -23.

I’m not going to lie there’s a lot that I don’t understand about the Bible and some of the things that the Lord asked his people to do does not make sense to me but I feel like he does that with us now too. IT then helps me to see that he’s been doing that and then to see how it works out, is honestly an encouragement to me. I mean Sarah had Issac so late in life and then God asked Abraham to sacrifice him. The parallels that can be seen in that story with Christ’s sacrifice. Wow! It hit me this morning.

With the craziness of life, I know it’s tough to give up a little bit of the day but you’re giving it to the Lord. Give him a few minutes in the morning before you start your day to read his word and meditate on it. Read it over and over a few times. Think on it and learn it. And spend time thanking him for his word and what he’s provided for you. Thank him for what he is going to do for you in the future too. Oh man….stay tuned, I am going to write a whole post on praising the Lord for things he hasn’t even yet done and talking about how he has blessed me personally with that. Praise ….whew that’s a whole other powerful part of our relationship with Christ.

I know that you may be at a different place with your relationship with Christ and this might not make sense but give it a shot. Just try the quiet thing for a couple minutes and read a Psalm. And then talk to God and be quiet in his presence too. When we quiet ourselves before him, he speaks. It may not be a human voice clearly speaking in our ear, or it may. But he speaks to us in so many ways. We just have to be willing to receive it.

Again guys, I’m not trying to pretend like I have it all figured out but I want to share with you what the Lord has been teaching me and doing for me, when I allow him to have complete control. And I still don’t always understand it and don’t always want to to do it but I give each and every day over to him, first thing in the morning.

I hope you all have a blessed Sunday!

~Lynn

