Tags

, , , , , ,

Recently I had a discussion with someone that I am close to about creativity. I never thought I was a creative person. Honestly he is a super creative person. He is a musical artist. I didn’t think I could play instruments or write things. I didn’t think that I could come up with something out of thin air if you will that people would enjoy.

What I have come to realize is that I was wrong. First, he pointed out that I was creative. And he said that if I am saying that I’m not creative then the Creator of the universe is not creative. Because God made me after himself. Therefore I am creative. I would be limiting God if I were to say that I wasn’t creative. We are all creative in our own way. Some people are blessed with different gifts than others. It’s all a matter of perspective. I have learned that I am creative in my own way…

Personally I cannot sit down and create a melody and write music. That doesn’t mean that I am not creative. I’m teaching myself how to play the piano. I am writing poems. I am crocheting a scarf. I have made multiple wreaths, pulling from others ideas but creating essentially my own unique piece.  God gives us inspiration and opportunities every day to be creative. It’s just a matter of us taking those opportunities.

I know that my things that I create aren’t perfect but I am creating and doing. I am trying new things. I am living. I am experiencing. That is what God wants us to do. He doesn’t want us to sit there and not live. We need to experience life and do things.

Find a way that you can be creative today…..it’s probably different from the thing that I mentioned. And that’s okay. We are each unique and our creativity is going to come out differently. Maybe it’s photography, decorating your home, making a film, writing a letter or story, making a meal with no recipe, or baking a cake. Whatever it is…be creative today!

 

Happy Friday!!!

~Lynn

