Tags

, , , , , ,

I’ve been thinking about this topic a lot recently and I have to say something. It’s a topic that is continually being brought up right now. And rightfully so. What I have become aware of is that this progress that we supposedly have made has not happened as much as we believe, especially as much as white America says it has. I’m honestly scared for my country and fellow man.

It breaks my heart that we can still sit here in the year 2016 and judge someone based on the color of their skin. For what? Just because someone looks differently than you doesn’t give you a right to judge them. You wouldn’t want to be judged based on that sole factor alone. So why does it happen in our society every day? We are naive to say it doesn’t. It happens subtly and not so subtly. It breaks my heart and I want to be someone who stands up and says so.

Believe me I plan on doing more than just write this blog. I know that this requires more than one tiny little blog post. I intend to do more but I felt like I needed to write this out here as well.

I want to help bring about change. I want to be part of a conversation. I don’t want to sit idly by and allow this to continue to happen to people. I want to make a difference. I want to stand up for what is right.

So we have different skin tones. Cool. We are each beautiful and uniquely made in the image of God. I am ashamed that some of my white brothers and sisters see others as less than them. I wish that we all had eyes to see one anther the way that Christ sees us. I am sure his heart breaks over this daily. It should break all our hearts.

What saddens me more is that it happens in churches and among Christians. How is this possible? How is that loving as Christ did and doing unto others as you would have them do unto you. If we love God, we should love his image bearers.

This blows my mind the most, as we are not to be like the world. We can’t keep pretending that it’s not an issue. It is a very real issue and I want to make a difference and make a change.

How are we expect anyone to want to come to Christ if we treat our fellow man this way? You can’t treat someone differently just because they look differently than you.

If you see an injustice happen, speak up and out. Don’t sit there quietly and do nothing. It’s just as bad to allow the injustice to continue.  Get to know people for who they are and don’t make prejudicial and racist assumptions.

God made each and every single one of us. We are all made in the image of God. Not one of us is any better than anyone else. God has called us to love one another and as Christians, we need to stand up for our fellow man and especially our fellow believers. We should not allow this to continue at all.

I hope and pray that we can all make a difference together and come together as humans. I am going to do everything in my power to stand up and speak out against injustice. I hope that you will too.

Have a wonderful evening!

~Lynn

