Tags

, , , , ,

I cannot pretend to be something that I am not. As you cannot pretend to be something that you are not. For so long, I tried to be someone else. Why? Because I wanted to fit in and I wanted people to like me. I was trying to figure out what I was missing. No matter who I hung out with, I felt as though I didn’t fit in.

Honestly, though I am learning who I am, there are still plenty of times where I feel as though I still don’t fit in. I have realized that I do not fit a particular mold or type. I am myself and that is okay.

I have learned that not everyone is going to understand me or like me. And I’m learning that that is okay. It might mean that I am lonely when it comes to human closeness. And that is something that I will have to be okay with. I know that there is someone who is similar and can relate to me.

I know that it’s more than just about me. I don’t fit in because I am not the same. Though there are many things that I enjoy doing, I know that I see the world a little bit differently. I am not content going through the motions of life. I want more out of my life than just sitting and watching mindless television.

I want to make a difference. I want my life to have purpose and meaning. I want to serve others. I want to serve my God. I want to bring honor and glory to him. I want to praise him and glorify him. I want him to be proud of me.

The Lord has changed my heart in so many ways. I have learned that I cannot be someone that I am not. I cannot change myself to please someone else. I am me. But I want to be exposed to new things and appreciate the world around me. I want to learn things that I haven’t known before. I want to be exposed to new ideas and people and places. I am not content with the status quo.

Get to know me…the real me. Not the fake me. You might like me…you might not. Get to know the real you…don’t change yourself for someone else’s sake. But also don’t deny yourself who you are for someone. If you are similar to someone, appreciate it. If you are different from someone, celebrate it. We are all uniquely who we are.

Be yourself. Accept yourself. Know yourself. Be confident in yourself. Love yourself. Be you. There is no one else like you.

