Tags

, , , , , , ,

As I have been watching the news and reading the headlines, I decided I wanted to write about my thoughts. I want to honor a great man.He was such a pioneer and such a wise man in history. I sincerely wish that I could have met him. His life was ended too soon but I do believe that the Lord has used him and his legacy in a mighty way. I believe that there is still much to be learned.

IMG_1055

I just want to share with you some of the powerful things that this man said that I think are important to reflect on. And this is by no means an exhaustive list and I am not claiming to be an expert on his life. I just appreciate him and what he stood for.

“Faith is taking the first step even when you don’t see the whole staircase”

Phew that is so true and as Christians, God calls us to step out in faith all time. We aren’t always going to see what’s coming or what lies ahead but we have to trust the Lord and his guidance and direction. I am personally reminded of this pretty much every day in my own life. I can’t imagine what it was like for him in his life.

“Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that.” Dr. King

Dr. King was a peaceful man and believed that hate was not the answer. When he literally had every reason to hate people back, he didn’t. That is huge and very humbling. I don’t know that I could do that myself. What a great example of a man in the face of adversity. He was treated so unfairly and yet he did not resort to being violent back. Again, I do not know that I could have shown that much grace and mercy, if I were in the same situations as him.

“The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.” Dr. King

Where he stood,what he did, and how he handled things with such grace blows my mind. I cannot imagine.

It truly breaks my heart that people have judged each other simply based on the color of skin. It saddens me that people still have prejudices and preconceived notions today.  I wish this was not the case and I will not sit by and be silent. It’s not right and not something that pleases the Lord. It hurts my heart even more that it still occurs among Christians and in churches.

As MLK Jr stated:

“We must learn to live together as brothers or perish together as fools”

We need to learn to love one another no matter what the differences are between us. We are all made in the image of God. We need to take time to learn from one another and converse with one another. We need to stand up and fight for one another. We cannot sit on the side lines and let people be mistreated. It’s not right to watch our brothers and sisters be attacked for no reason. As Dr. King stated,

“In the end, we will remember not the words of our enemies but the silence of our friends.”

I don’t want to be the person who stood by and did nothing. I want to help make a difference. I want to be part of the change. I want to be part of the discussion. I want to have a positive influence. I don’t want to just sit by and do nothing, when there is clearly unjust treatment of my fellow human beings.

As I mentioned racism and discrimination still happens in the church. It is not right. How it must break the Lord’s hear to see this amongst his people. God created each and every one of us in his imagine. No person is any less spectacular and amazing in his eyes than anyone else. He loves each one of us and Christ died for everyone. We need to not look at anyone as less than ourself.

“And he has given us this command: Those who love God must also love their fellow believers.” -1 John 4:21

Why there is hate and racism between believers is not right. God is love. We love because he first loved us. If we do not love one another as fellow believers, are we really a believer?

“Beloved let us love one another, for love is of God and everyone who loves has been born of God, and know God. He who doesn’t love doesn’t know God, for God is love. By this God’s love was revealed in us, that God has sent his one and only Son into the world, that we might live through him.” -1 John 4:7-9

I agree with Dr. King’s other statement, “I have decided to stick with love. Hate is too great a burden to bear.”  Hate is confusing to me. The history of our country in regards to hate based on the color of someone’s skin saddens me and sickens me. It really hurts to see that we can treat one another this way. Though there are things that I personally will never be able to relate to, I want to understand as much as I can and learn as much as I can. I want to stand up for what is right.

I am sorry for the discrimination and racism that has taken place in this country and across the world. I wish it was not something that we had to deal with. I want to do everything that I can to help it end. It’s not right and we need to come together to end it. I want to make a difference and make a change.

Shalom!

~Lynn

