Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

So my last post was about facing fears. I have continued to face a great many fears.  One that I keep having to face is going places on my own and doing things on my own. This was something that I could not have ever fathomed doing on my own, even a few months ago. I thought I needed to have someone with me, even if it was just one other friend. I never wanted to go anywhere by myself. I even had a hard time grocery shopping by myself.

Now, I travel places and spend the weekends by myself. Now don’t get me wrong, I would rather actually spend time going places and having adventures with other people. But I am not going to not have an adventure anymore for fear of being by myself. There is a beauty in traveling to places by yourself.

You get to do things on your own time table. You get to go to the places you want to go to. You can eat where you want. You can spend as much or as little time at one place, as you want. As selfish, as this may sound, you get to do you. And sometimes, if you are the type who does a lot for other people or does what everyone else wants to do, it’s nice to do what you want to do. Though I must admit, I enjoy other people making the decisions sometimes and suggesting things that I may not necessarily think of as an option.

My default place, that I will be happy going to, at any time of the year, is the beach. And quite honestly, I don’t care what beach it is. I’ve only been to beaches on the east coast. I would like to get to the west coast of the U.S. at some point and see the oceans there. Or get to the Caribbean.

The ocean and the beach is my happy place. It’s my place of refreshing and renewal. It’s where I like to go to clear my head and get myself back together. It’s peaceful to me and I have found a lot of clarity and comfort there. The Lord honestly knows it’s a place that I love to go to. However, it’s not where I feel like I will end up. It’s only a place to visit from time to time.

The city has actually become a place where I feel most at home. It used to be that I wanted to live outside a city, like in the suburbs but then be able to easily commute in. I actually really liked where I grew up. I was in between New York and Philly. I thought that was great and I love visiting both of those cities.

However, I have truly fallen in love with our nation’s capital. I don’t know what it is about Washington, D.C. But I literally never want to leave when I come here. It feels like home to me now. I have come to love the hustle and bustle of city life. I love all the noise and the people. I love the diversity and different things that I can experience. There is so much to do and see. There are so many different types of people. I love how much it exposes me to things that was completely unaware of.

The first several times that I had come here, I came with other people. I have since now come here, two times by myself. It has been a great experience. I have gotten to literally wonder around the city and get my barrings. It has let me find me and get over my fears of being alone. It has taught me to trust in God and know that he is going to direct me and guide me. It has given me the chance to experience so much confirmation. It has allowed me to see that with him, I can do all things.

I have learned that I can have adventures with him, just the two of us. It has helped me to see that just because I am not married or dating someone, that he has a plan and he can still use me. Just because other people put limits on me and on him, does not mean that I have to. Christ is on my side and is with me each step of the way. We are walking through this life together. I do not need to fear.

And out of going on these trips, in spite of my fears, I have been able to see and experience things that I wouldn’t have done otherwise. It makes me want to experience other things and go more places. I do not want to limit what God can do in and through me.

So if you are like me and scared to take a trip on your own or do something on your own, don’t be. Don’t let others talk you out of it. If you want to go somewhere that other people don’t want to, take the trip yourself. Don’t let someone else tell you that you can’t do it or that you aren’t good enough. Don’t let someone keep you from experiencing what the Lord is trying to show you or where he is trying to take you.

Go explore a new place and meet new people on your own.  Or go seek out the Lord by yourself, without any distractions from other people. Life gets busy and gets in the way. Don’t forget to take time to take time to get out of your comfort zone and experience something new. It may end up changing your dreams and your goals. You never know how the Lord is going to move.

Shalom!

~Lynn

