Tags

, , , , , ,

My heart is heavy about many things at the moment and I don’t know where to begin. If I’m honest, I’ve been perpetually in this mindset for a while. It’s just that life happens and I get distracted. But my heart is often bombarded with overwhelming waves of passion and conviction. And I don’t always know how to channel it. I don’t know what I can do to fix the things that are troubling me and right these wrongs.

They are things that are much bigger than just me. They are things that are bigger than my community and the people that I interact with on a daily basis. And yet, I think that it has to start there. It has to be a movement and a change that happens in each town and community. It needs to start small and spread. It’s not something we can rely on a government to mandate or command. We have to make the choice.

We have to choose to be different, to act different. WE have to choose to look at others with the love of Christ. We have to see beyond our fleshly selves and our own selfishness. WE have to truly converse with and listen to one another. WE need to be willing to interact with those who are different than us. WE cannot be comfortable with only being around those who think, act, look, and talk like us. WE are each uniquely different and each have a lot to teach one another. Yet WE don’t take the time.

WE make excuses and push it off. But what is that leaving the next generation? Doesn’t that defeat the progress we have made? Doesn’t it prevent further progress from being made. I don’t want to live in that world.

My heart is sad and heavy. There is a change that needs to happen and I want to make a difference with those around me. I want more than to type and say something. I want to have an impact and make those around me feel valued, loved, and appreciated. I want us all to know that we matter and have a voice. There’s a lot of things I want and hope for. I guess I need to just start with me and hope that it spreads to others.

Where do I go from here?

~Lynn

